Boarding and Day · Co-ed College Prep · Grades 6–12 & Postgraduate · Hebron, Maine

Notable Alumni and Historical Figures

We are proud of our rich and interesting history, just as we are proud of the Hebron Academy students who went on to make a significant mark in the world.

Notable Alumni

John Brown Russwurm- Class of 1819

John Brown Russwurm was born in Jamaica in 1799, son of a wealthy Virginia planter named John Russwurm and his black housekeeper. He lived in Jamaica until he was eight, when his father sent him to school in Quebec. Although there is no primary evidence (the early treasurer’s records were lost in a fire in 1819), it is generally accepted that John Brown Russwurm attended Hebron Academy sometime between 1812 and 1819. His stepmother and her new husband offered financial support, and he entered Bowdoin College in 1824. While at Bowdoin, John was invited to join the Athenaean Society. In 1826, was the second black man to graduate from an American college. With others, he started a weekly newspaper, Freedom’s Journal, and was soon the sole editor. 

Hannibal Hamlin- Class of 1827

Hannibal Hamlin was born in Paris, Maine in 1809. He would graduate from Hebron Academy in 1827 and go on to study law, passing the bar in 1833. He would be elected Vice President to Abraham Lincoln from 1861-1865. After serving for Lincoln’s first term, he would go on to be a Maine Senator from 1969 - 1881.

Freelan Stanley- Class of 1873

Freelan Stanley was an inventor, entrepreneur, and philanthropist. He would make his fortune in the development of early photography and the automotive steam engine - the Stanley Steamer. He was on Hebron’s Board of Trustees and was the president of the Board during the tumultuous time at Hebron after William Sargent’s death in 1921. He would steer the school to becoming the “Maine School for Boys” in 1922. His philanthropy led to the building of the Stanley Arena, the Stanley Infirmary (now the Admissions Building), and Sargent Memorial Gymnasium (now the Lepage Center for the Arts).

Nellie Whitman - Class of 1876

From South Paris, ME. Graduated in 1876 and began teaching at the school. Taught mathematics until 1915 - she is the longest tenured female faculty member in the school’s history. Worked with Head of School William Sargent for 30 years. Her devoted correspondence with alumni helped establish the alumni association in the 1920s.

Bessie Fenn - Class 1907

She became the first female golf professional to be in charge of a club in the United States when she took over for her father at Poland Spring in Maine and also Palm Beach in Florida. Bessie Fenn was a great player and competed on the national level for several years, winning  championships in the 1920s in Maine and Florida. 

Eddie Jeremiah- Class of 1926

After leading Hebron to a 21-1 record and a New England Championship, Jeremiah would go on to be a standout at Dartmouth College. He did find time to return for what must be the first Alumni game in Hebron’s history. In 1929, he teamed up with former teammate and Hebron head coach Danny MacFayden to earn a tie against the starting varsity roster. After graduating from Dartmouth in 1930, Jeremiah would enter the exciting era of the dawning of professional hockey. He played for multiple teams over a five year period including a stint with the Boston Bruins in the 1931-32 season. In the 1935-36 season he became the coach of the Boston Olympics hockey team and led them to the National Amateur Athletic Union Championship. It is a wonder that he was able to return to Hebron to coach the 1934-35 team. Jeremiah would become the head coach at Dartmouth College for the 1937-38 season. He remained the head coach until his retirement in 1967: at the time his 307 wins was the record for an NCAA coach.  Jeremiah was appointed the head coach of the 1964 Olympic team at the Innsbruck, Austria games. In 1973, he was inducted into the National Hockey Hall of fame.

Robert A. Rushworth - Class of 1943

Robert Rushworth was born in 1924 in Madison, Maine. Upon his graduation from Hebron in 1943 he joined the Air Force and earned his pilot wings in 1944 and earned the rank of Second Lieutenant. He would fight in WWII, Korea, and Vietnam. Robert attended the Air Force Experimental Flight Test Pilot School in 1957. From November 4, 1960 to July 1, 1966, he flew the X-15, the world's fastest and highest-flying winged aircraft a record 34 times, earning his Astronaut Wings. He was promoted to major general on August 1, 1975. Rushworth was rated a command pilot astronaut and flew over 6,900 flying hours in more than 50 different aircraft. He received the National Aeronautical and Space Administration's Exceptional Service Medal among many Military Honors

Sam Stafford- Class of 1968

Judicial magistrate for the Eighth Judicial Circuit In Florida (1989 - present)  and professor at the University of Florida Levin College of Law (1988 - present).

He and his wife, Harriet, were awarded the Rosa Parks Quiet Courage Award in 2018 for their fighting for equality in education and working to improve the quality of life for all citizens.

Suzanne Smrekay - Class 1980

Attended Brown University - graduated  1984. PHD Southern Methodist University  1990. She works for NASA in  the Jet Propulsion Laboratory,  1992 - present. Since 2010 has been the Deputy Principal Investigator for the Mars Insight project. Among her awards: 2012 – NASA Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal,  2015 – Elected to International Academy of Astronautics. She has authored/co-authored 34 publications. 


Sean Morey - Class of 1995

Sean led the Hebron Academy football team to an undefeated season, Evergreen League Championship, and the New England Prep School Class  D Championship and was named the New England Class D player of the year.  After graduating from Hebron Academy he attended Brown University where he finished with an Ivy League record 251 receptions for 3,850 yards and 40 touchdowns. Sean is the only athlete to ever have his number retired at Brown. He went on to have a  10 year NFL career in which he was a Pro Bowler and Captain and Super Bowl Champion with the Pittsburgh Steelers. 

Historical Figures